Oh wait … I still have a blog? My bad.

I thought you might like to see a photo of my kitchen:
kitchen

…I wish. That photo is from a Swedish home featured on design*sponge, one of my favorite design blogs. For some reason I am always drawn to spare, minimalist style. Maybe it’s because my own home looks more like this:

storage
Okay, so that’s actually our storage facility: an 8×10 room, packed almost to the ceiling with the possessions we’ve decided we don’t need at our small apartment. This leaves me wondering — if we can live without these items for a year … can’t we just live without them for good?

…which is why I’m conducting a poll. Should I burn down our storage facility? Leave your answer in the comments.

14 responses to “Oh wait … I still have a blog? My bad.

  1. Erin Fielding

    I think about that all the time. We have stuff just packed into closets and under the bed that we just keep taking with us from house to house. I don’t know why we keep it.

  2. Hmmm, I definitely vote for getting rid of it all…we did that last summer and made several hundred dollars off of things we never even missed.

  3. Oh, and you totally had me for about 2 seconds. I was thinking, man, her house always looks great, even when it’s a tiny little apartment!

  4. Hmm…how aboutthis: if I offer to start the fire for you, can Ash and I first go through and see if there is anything we like that we could pillage? Then I promise you I can burn it all down….WITH ONLY ONE MATCH! (I know, I’m amazing like that)

    P.S. We both really enjoy stalking your blog…it’s always so much fun! 🙂

  5. the contrast between picture 1 and picture 2 brought this to mind (see :45 to :50):

  6. Don’t be alarmed, but one of the plates in your dream kitchen is trying to escape.

  7. total dork, i know, but i was pretty much unbelievably excited when i saw you posted today. sorry. *embarrassed* anyway.

    i don’ t know what you should do! i feel the same way about all of our c-r-a-p that is stored in our unit. gosh! seriously, if i am living happily without it, why can’t i just get rid of it! brite’s idea about selling it makes me happy…….but i’m not even sure if it’s worth the trouble! so, going from my own experience (which is totally self-absorbed of me to talk about myself on your blog), i don’t know what to say!!! except, you’re awesome.

  8. ah, design*sponge. love it. sell the stuff then use the money to create your own design*sponge-ish kitchen. speaking of selling…i’ve got some danish-style mid-century chairs that need a new home. 😉

  9. I don’t understand why you couldn’t reach it!

  10. love the kitchen… and yes burn it down, however ensure that you a) have insurance to go buy that kitchen and b) give me your diane von furstenburg luggage to go with my one piece.

  11. storage unit sale! i unloaded my storage unit full of music gear and all of my stuff and ended up taking two truck loads to goodwill and two to the dump.

    stuff sucks. i still had boxes i hadnt unpacked form dan burns house… throw it away.

  12. Hi, Jax! For ten months we’ve lived without our personal effects. I’ve had this same thought many times, that we can do without it all. In fact, on camping trips I marvel that we really need very little to get by. However, facing two more years without our “stuff”, I’m thinking that rather than deciding that I don’t need any of it, I’ll joyfully anticipate the day when it feels like Christmas as we unpack it all again. In the meantime, we’ll live the abundant life Christ gives, regardless of the baggage.

    Hugs to all of you!

  13. I’m with Shep, I can hardly concentrate on your question because of that misplaced plate in the Swedish kitchen.

    Don’t burn the storage unit. Talk about sparse. I hear jail cells are particularly minimalist.

    You are a great garage-sale-holder (…after all, you were trained by the master..) and you can make money to buy quality pieces that you love, that will enhance your life vs. clog it up.

    Love, MOM

Leave a Reply

