Reason # 28947 I love summer:

salsa

Farmstand Salsa

adapted from Tyler Florence’s cookbook: Eat This Book

1 can of corn, drained
1/2 medium red onion, diced
2 green onions, white + green parts, chopped
1 1/2 pints cherry tomatoes, halved
1 avocado, halved, pitted, peeled, + chunked
1 jalapeno, minced
1/4 bunch fresh cilantro, chopped
Juice of 1 lemon
1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
Kosher salt + freshly ground black pepper

Put all the ingredients into a large mixing bowl + gently toss them together. Season with salt + pepper. Makes about 4 cups.

Sometimes I serve this as a salsa, sometimes I eat it like a salad, sometimes I pile it into a pita and chow down middle-eastern style. No matter how you serve it (except maybe a la mode), it’s delicious!

6 responses to “Reason # 28947 I love summer:

  1. I want some. Right now. And that’s saying alot since I just got back from a huge pot luck at church.

  2. so about your salsa….it looks excellent, but i think it would be even excellenter (but more work) if you used grilled corn and cut it off of the cob.

  3. Wowser, what time do we eat?

  4. Wow! Looks like the cover of some snazzy cooking magazine.

  5. Wow… I’m longing…

  6. I’ve got all my salsa ingredients out on the counter, but I’d totally forgotten about this one…will have to run out and get some corn. This would be delish with homemade corn chips…but then again, what wouldn’t be???

Leave a Reply

